Steering Group

EMIG Members determine the policy of the group and this is delivered by a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and R&D Director, as well as the Steering Group members.

Leslie Galloway

Chairman, Leslie Galloway

Leslie built a successful career over 40+ years in senior management roles in both the pharmaceutical and medical device industries, culminating in the successful turnaround of a pharmaceutical business.

He was elected EMIG Chairman in 2005 and has been instrumental in the metamorphosis of EMIG from being a business networking group to the influential trade association it is today. In 2005, EMIG started with17 member companies and today, has 250+. Fewer than 10% of EMIG Members are represented by other trade bodies which makes EMIG of particular interest to Government.

Leslie’s interaction with the membership, which comprises both large and small biopharmaceutical companies, provides him with a unique perspective on how government policy and regulation impact on investment, innovation and patient welfare.

Leslie has been appointed Vice President of the European Confederation of Pharmaceutical Entrepreneurs (EUCOPE), has served as Vice Chairman of the NICE Project Development Group for Local Formularies Good Practice Guidance and represents the EMIG Membership on a wide number of Department of Health and NHS policy groups. Leslie has also been appointed as an Expert Advisor at the NICE Centre for Clinical Practice.

Leslie has published numerous articles, is a frequent speaker at national and international conferences and is guest lecturer for the MBE programme at the University of Cambridge.


Abid Karim

Vice Chairman, Abid Karim

Abid was appointed Vice Chairman of EMIG in 2005 and along with Leslie Galloway has played a significant role in fundamentally developing EMIG as a trade association.

He has extensive experience of the pharmaceutical industry and is currently in a senior role in Pharma.

The members of the EMIG Steering Group are:

  • Leslie Galloway, Chairman
  • Abid Karim, Vice-Chairman & Biocryst
  • Paul Ranson, Morgan Lewis & Legal Advisor
  • Sajid Babariya, Kyowa Kirin
  • Simon Coates-Walker, Consilient
  • Andy Farrant, Ethypharm
  • Bruce Faulkner-Dunkley, Swedish Orphan BioVitrum (SOBI)
  • Christian Hill, Map BioPharma
  • Eric Low OBE, Amyloidosis Research Consortium & ex CEO Myeloma UK 
  • Robyn Hughes, Teva
  • Charlotte Phelps, Altacor & Parapharm Development
  • Stuart Rose, Merz Pharma
  • David Trevor, VISUfarma
  • Derek Williams, Vifor Pharma
Cookie Policy | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy
Copyright © Ethical Medicines Industry Group 2013 | Ethical Medicines Industry Group (EMIG), 120 Pall Mall, London SW1Y 5EA